"Ni-no-Taki" Waterfall (Second Fall) behind Nachi Waterfall(Nachi-no-Taki, Ni-no-Taki)


Graceful waterfall called "Ni-no-Taki" Waterfall (Second Fall)

In the Nachi Primeval Forest, which has been designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, you can find the 48 waterfalls (that include the Nachi Waterfall), called “48 Falls of Nachi,” that monks used as training sites for Shugendo (a Japanese mountain-based ascetic practice incorporating Shinto and Buddhist concepts). A fall that follows Nachi Waterfall, which is also known as “Ichi-no-Taki” Waterfall, the first of the 48 falls, is “Ni-no-Taki” Waterfall (Second Fall). Ni-no-Taki Waterfall possesses a graceful appearance, and for that reason it is nicknamed “Waterfall of Konoha Gaeshi” (a fall with smooth movement of water similar to that of a falling leaf) orWaterfall of Nyoirin” (Bodhisattva of Compassion). You must be accompanied by an authorized guide to see Ni-no-Taki Waterfall, since it is located inside the Nachi Primeval Forest, which is normally off-limits.


Nachikatsuura Town
Nachisan, Nachi-Katsuura Town
Season / Time zone
Spring Winter(February - May) / Daytime
Weather conditions
Sunny Cloudy
Frequency of appearance
Only in right conditions


80 minutes’ walk from Kumano Nachi Taisha Grand Shrine or Nachisan Seiganto-ji Temple. You are not allowed to enter the Nachi Primeval Forest where Ni-no-Taki Waterfall is located without proper authorization. In February and March every year, the Nachi-Katsuura Town Tourism Association provides the “Mystery Walking Tour” that takes you to the “Three Waterfalls of Nachi,” which include Nachi Waterfall (Ichi-no-Taki Waterfall or First Fall), Ni-no-Taki Waterfall (Second Fall), and San-no-Taki Waterfall (Third Fall).

Recommended spot

JR Nachi Station > Kumano Nachi Taisha Grand Shrine